DOCUMENTARY FIND: FORKS OVER KNIVES

21 Nov

FORKS OVER KNIVES is a documentary I recently came across, while trying to find better ways of getting protein, because I do eat meat, but not enough to be considered “enough protein” … or so I THOUGHT until I watched this documentary. Growing up in America as apart of a generation who didn’t know any better, I never even considered that at one point live stock used to be scarce and only what rich people ate; which left the poor and middle classes to be on a diet of mostly nuts, fruit and vegetables and NOT the newly ordained”congress” vegetable known as Pizza; but you get my point.

So after watching it, my view on the “American Way” of eating meat, meat, meat has slightly shifted. Granted, sometimes I just feel like having a shish-ka-bob and I am not one that would probably go completely vegan; I am willing to at least try eating a mostly green and grain – plant based diet. I love my spinach and brown rice (grain YES!!!!) – since you aren’t suppose to have any animal products, how was I going to have my now GLUTEN FREE Rice Chex cereal? well I listened to my best friends advice and bought Silk’s Almond Milk; and ya know what?? it tasted GOOD! Anyway now I am just rambling, but please do check out this film, it was definitely open your eyes ESP if you are prone to (or have) high blood pressure, cholesterol, diabetes, obese, heart problems etc.

Lee Fulkerson’s illuminating documentary serves as a natural successor to Food, Inc. in taking a critical look at the consequences of Western dietary habits. While some might view the lower-budget Forks over Knives as a long-form commercial for veganism, Fulkerson’s evidence supporting the benefits of a plant-based diet is too compelling to dismiss (and he never claims that a small piece of cheese ever killed anyone). The filmmaker builds his case around the work of two doctors who grew up on farms where cow’s milk was considered “nature’s perfect food,” as Dr. T. Colin Campbell puts it, and went into different fields of medicine, but their research led them to the same conclusion. For 20 years, Cornell University nutritional biochemist Campbell focused on China, where degenerative disease rates skyrocketed with the increased consumption of meat and dairy. By contrast, Japan and Kenya, where the fare is leaner, have experienced far fewer incidences of such illnesses. As a surgeon, Cleveland Clinic’s Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn, an Olympic Gold Medalist for rowing, also witnessed the results of a dependence on animal-based and processed foods: heart disease, type 2 diabetes, and some forms of cancer. When his patients eliminated these items, they experienced significant improvement. Several appear on screen, along with Dr. Neal Barnard, Junshi Chen (collaborator on Campbell’s China Study)–even mixed martial artist Mac Danzig. An opening title cautions that the film should not serve as a substitute for medical advice, but it certainly provides helpful information for anyone concerned about their health. –Kathleen C. Fennessy

If you have not seen it already, please watch it:

WATCH IT ON AMAZON PRIME: Forks Over Knives on Amazon Prime [$3.99]
WATCH ON NETFLIX: Netflix Watch Instantly

http://www.forksoverknives.com/

One Response to “DOCUMENTARY FIND: FORKS OVER KNIVES”

  1. mesothelioma December 15, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    I thought it was going to be some boring old post, but it really compensated for my time. I will post a link to this page on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful

Leave a Reply

